Connect with us


Lady wins her late husband’s seat in Cross River Bye-election



Nigeria News

The Cross River bye-election which was held yesterday, had Mrs Abbey Ukpukpen, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP),  declared winner of vacant seat of Obudu State Constituency in the Cross River House of Assembly.

Lady wins her late husband's seat in Cross River Bye-election lailasnews

The seat which her husband Stephen Ukpukpen occupied, was declared vacant after his death. Mrs Abbey who was declared winner in the Cross River bye-election by the State Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Dr Frankland Briyai, was a staff of the University of Calabar.

According to Briyai, the PDP Candidate scored 12,712 votes to beat her closest rival, Mr Ishamali Bendel, of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who scored 4,345 votes. Other results include: Awafang Angiating of Mega Party of Nigeria (MPN), who scored 132 votes and Agwupuye Umeka of African Democratic Party (ADP), who scored 114 votes to place third and fourth, respectively.

“Total valid votes 17,303; rejected votes 607; total votes cast 17,910; total number of registered voters 69,908, ‘’ he said.

The REC commended the Electorate for the peaceful conduct of the exercise and urged them to replicate the same disposition in the 2019 general elections.

Reacting to the victory, Governor Ayade said;

“The election was more of a referendum on my acceptability and my stewardship to my people. There couldn’t be any more resounding affirmation than this from my people.

“Basically it is more or less like a referendum because my state house member representing Obudu State Constituency in the Cross River House of Assembly died suddenly and so, the bye election held yesterday. So, it is a validation of my own service.”

Late Ukpukpen was a member representing Obudu State Constituency, PDP in the Cross River State House of Assembly until May, 2018 when he died and July 2018 when he was bidded farewell in a valedictory session held at the Assembly complex. His wife who has been declared winner of the bye-election, challenged Ada Ishamali of APC, amongst others.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply