Connect with us


APC wins Kwara by-election – INEC



Nigeria News

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Tunji Olawuyi, as winner of the Kwara by-election for the Ekiti/Oke Ero/ Irepodun/ Isin federal constituency on Saturday.

According to the INEC returning officer, Professor Abimbola Adesoji, who announced the result in Omu Aran at about 11 minutes after 11pm on Saturday, Olawuyi scored 21,236 to beat Saheed Alatise of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 18,095.

APC wins Kwara by-election - INEC lailasnews 3
APC wins Kwara by-election – INEC

Meanwhile, the Kwara PDP has condemned conduct of House of Representatives by-election, while it lauded its members, supporters for exercising their civic right

The party in a statement by its State Publicity Secretary, Mr Tunde Ashaolu, said the election was characterised by widespread irregularities including indiscriminate arrest of its members, vote buying and intimidation of voters by thugs and security agents deployed for the election.

“This unfortunate situation was responsible for the low turnout of voters in most areas as they were scared of the security crackdown and threats by the imported thugs.”

It also accused the Independent National Electoral commission (INEC) and security agencies of conniving with the All Progressives Congress, APC, to manipulate the electoral process.

The PDP added that the partisanship and unprofessionalism exhibited by the security agents and the electoral body does not guarantee that the outcome of the election will reflect the will of the people.

The party, however, commended its members and supporters for going out to participate in the election not minding the intimidation tactics of the APC, and for conducting themselves in a civil, peaceful and orderly manner.